This breadth and unity of United Nations system activities was reflected in several side events at COP 15/CMP5.  The side events brought together a number of agencies under thematic focus areas, all demonstrating how the United Nations system stands ready to support implementation action at global, regional, national and local levels.

Date
Theme
Focal Points
8 December
(1-2:30 pm)
Halfdan Rasmussen
ICAO / IMO: Side event on international bunker fuels
ICAO, Ms. Jane Hupe
Tel.: +1 514 954 6363
E-mail: jhupe@icao.int
IMO, Karin Sjolin Frudd
Tel.: + 44 20 7463 4025
E-mail: ksjolin@imo.org
8 December
(1-2:30 pm)
Niels Bohr
IPCC information and activities and their relevance for the UNFCCC process
WMO, Ms. Christ Renate
Tel.: +41 22 730 8254
E-mail: ipcc-sec@wmo.int
9 December
(1-2:30 pm)
Halfdan Rasmussen
Observation, monitoring and prediction: Essential elements of climate knowledge
WMO, M.V.K. Sivakumar
Tel.: +41 79 514 8251
E-mail: msivakumar@wmo.int
9 December
(6:15-7:45 pm)
Victor Borge
The role of land under the new climage change policy framework and UN-Land as one delivering tool
UNCCD, Marie-Paule Lorka-Lauri
Tel : +49 228 815 2826
E-mail : mlavri@unccd.int
10 December
(1-2:30 pm)
Halfdan Rasmussen
One UN: Partnering with countries to build capacity and readiness for dealing with climate change
UNEP, Kaveh Zahedi
Tel.: +33 6 822 2155
E-mail: kaveh.zahedi@unep.org
10 December
(1-2:30 pm)
Victor Borge
Climate change and Food Security: Unifying commitments and action in land-based sectors
FAO, Wendy Mann
Tel.: +39 348 257 2913
E-mail: wendy.mann@fao.org
10 December
(6:15-7:45 pm)
Liva Weel
The effective use of ICTs and the IP systems for mitigating climate change
ITU, Cristina Bueti
Tel.: +41 22 730 5891
E-mail: cristina.bueti@itu.int
11 December
(9-10.30 pm)
Halfdan Rasmussen
Financing the battle ? scaling up private sector investment through public mechanisms
UNEP, Mr. Remco Rischer
Tel.: +41 22 917 8685
E-mail: remco.fischer@unep.ch
11 December
(1-2.30 pm)
Halfdan Rasmussen
Presentation of the Adaptation Fund Handbook and dialogue with the Adaptation Fund Board
GEF, Mr. Christian Hofer
Tel.: +1 202 413 4185
E-mail: chofer@thegef.org
11 December
(1-2.30 pm)
Victor Borge
Connecting Biodiversity and climate change mitigation and adaptation
CBD, Ms. Anne-Marie Wilson
Tel.: +1 514 287 8718
E-mail:
consultant.anne-marie.wilson@cbd.int
14 December
(1-2:30 pm)
Halfdan Rasmussen
Georgios Kostakos
Tel.: +1 646 642 1055
E-mail: kostakos@un.org
14 December
(2:45-4:15)
Liva Weel
Early adaptation actions
IFRC, Ms. Jette Michelsen
Tel.: +41 22 730 4650
E-mail: jette.michelsen@ifrc.org
14 December
(6:15-7:45 pm)
Liva Weel
Cities, population dynamics and climate change
UN-Habitat, Karin Buhre
Tel.: +254 20 762 3191
E-mail: karin.buhren@unhabitat.org
14 December
(6:15-7:45 pm)
Halfdan Rasmussen
United Nations country-level support
Muriel Obon
Tel.: +1 212 906 5167
E-mail: muriel.obon@undg.org
15 December
(1-2:30 pm)
Victor Borge
Addressing social consequences of climate change: Impacts on employment, health and gender
ILO, Ana Belen Sanchez
Tel.: +41 76 706 5264
E-mail: sanchezab@ilo.org
15 December
(8-9:30 pm)
Dan Turell
First steps towards a low-carbon United Nations
UNEP, Aniket Ghai
Tel.: +41 79 205 98 31
E-mail: aniket.ghai@unep.ch
15 December
(1-2:30 pm)
Niels Bohr
Financing climate action in developing countries: A United Nations system perspective
Cassie Flynn
Tel.: +1 703 472 9812
E-mail: cassie.flynn@undp.org

Ari Huhtala
Tel.: +1 202 506 0083
E-mail: ahuhtala@worldbank.org

Jarl Krausing
Tel.: +1 571 344 0477
E-mail: jkrausing@worldbank.org

16 December
(11 am-12:30 pm)
Victor Borge
Regional initiatives and strategies in support of country efforts on climate change
Amr Nour
Tel.: + 1 212 963 5565
E-mail: nour@un.org
16 December
(1-2:30 pm)
Niels Bohr
International cooperation on technology transfer ? Time for action
UNIDO, Morgan Bazilian,
Tel.: +43 6991 4593 880
E-mail: m.bazilian@unido.org
16 December
(2:45-4:15 pm)
Liva Weel
Climate adaptation continuum, migration and displacement ? Copenhagen and beyond
IOM, Alina Narusova
Tel.: +41 22 717 9295
Mobile: +41 76 319 4804
E-mail: anarusova@iom.int

UNU, Koko Warner
Tel.: +49 228 815 0226
E-mail: warner@ehs.unu.edu

UNHCR, Yoichiro Tsuchida
Tel.: +41 22 739 8341
Mobile: +41 79 217 3180
E-mail: tsuchida@unhcr.org
16 December
(6:15-7:45 pm)
CCTV
Georgios Kostakos
Tel.: +1 646 642 1055
E-mail: kostakos@un.org
17 December
(1-2:30 pm)
Halfdan Rasmussen
Green economy: Implementing a new climate deal
UNEP, Kaveh Zahedi
Tel.: +33 6 822 2155
E-mail: kaveh.zahedi@unep.org
17 December
(1-2:30 pm)
Liva Weel
Investing in women as leadership for climate change
UNDP, Hannie Meesters
Tel.: +1 347 446 5908
E-mail: hannie.meesters@undp.org
17 December
(1-2:30 pm)
Victor Borge
The World Heath Organisations ? Protecting health from climate change
WHO, Ravini Senanayake
Tel.: +41 22 791 2339
E-mail: senanayaker@who.int
WHO, Marina Maiero
Tel.: +41 22 791 2402
E-mail: maierom@who.int